Cheshire?

I have four monkeys to show you next which I would have considered ‘Cheshire’ monkeys, and so I confidently opened my CH catalogue to list them. Only to find that none of them are CH.

The first, I spotted on our return trip from Buxton (reported as no monkeys, although sightings in Macclesfield here, but I will be coming back to that in the next post thanks to agent Jeff). Stopping on this road was impossible with a car right behind us, so I made a note, and planned to hunt it on my way back to Tatton later in the week. But, a strange thing happened, although not that strange at all to seasoned monkey hunters, as returning along the same road – in the opposite direction – the monkey wasn’t visible. But thanks to Google I have found the tree. And a very fine tree too.

WA5, Cooks Hill, Frodsham.

WA5, Cooks Hill, Kingsley, Frodsham.

In the front garden of a house in the middle of nowhere in particular.

In the front garden of a house in the middle of nowhere in particular.

So yesterday I was driving to Tatton Park to the RHS Flower Show. No, it’s not the sort of thing I regularly do, but it’s interesting to have a peak into the world of Agas, conservatory furniture and ostrich leather handbags, knowing that urban Liverpool is not far away, plus I do enjoy the plant displays.

Deciding to take the scenic route to give my friend Gemma a look at Cheshire, we drive through Frodsham (missing monkey WA5), and then on through Delamere, and spotted this on the main road just past Delamere Station.

On the B5152

On the B5152. Monkey alert.

Now, I definitely think of this as Cheshire, but strangely for the catalogue (remember I use the postcode letter for reference), this is CW. Yes, as Ronnie said, I didn’t know Crewe started this far north.

CW1 on Station Road, Delamere.

CW1 on Station Road, Delamere.

In the front garden of this house built in 1910.

In the front garden of this house built in 1910.

So I’m guessing this tree is probably 104 years old.

Carrying on we take the A556 through Northwich, and at the Chester Road junction with Weaverham Road in Sandiway spot another one, this time in the grounds of house that is now Hollybank Veterinary Centre. I didn’t stop as our day out in Tatton could easily have turned into a monkey hunting expedition (and that’s not what I invited Gemma to do!). So here’s the tree as found on Google. And given the size of the building that houses this vet, I guess people round here take their pets pretty seriously.

CW2.

CW2.

Shortly arriving at Tatton I expect that monkey spotting is over for the day, but no, just into the entrance to Tatton Park there is a monster of a tree. I am completely unprepared for this as from the road, the entrance is concealed completely.

Driving into the corner of Tatton Park.

Driving into the corner of Tatton Park.

At this point I am unable to take a photograph of the monkey due to the traffic situation and traffic stewards. So we have a lovely time at Tatton, which I hadn’t realised was such an enormous estate – this was our view from our picnic spot.

The sort of view you don't get everyday.

The sort of view you don’t get everyday.

Deer frolic nearby and sheep graze. It’s surreal. We enjoy our time at the show, but no Agas or conservatory furniture or ostrich leather handbags are purchased. But we found four monkeys today, as you can see the CW postcode area does indeed stretch very far north of Crewe.

WA and CW

And as we leave, I pull over and jump out of the car, much to the annoyance of the steward with the many cones, and quickly snap the Tatton Park monkey, WA6. A good day.

WA6, Tatton Park.

WA6, Tatton Park.

WA6.

WA6.

One thought on “Cheshire?

Leave a Reply

