Liverpool overview

The Liverpool catalogue is continuing to grow and now has 77 monkeys in it. The Liverpool postcode area – as you’ll know I base my catalogues on the pre-defined postcode areas as a way of keeping tabs on the monkeys – the Liverpool postcode area covers the area I’d think of as Liverpool – i.e. south Liverpool, central Liverpool and north Liverpool. But it also extends to Crosby and Formby along the northern coast (but becomes PR by Southport), and then also up the A59 corridor to Maghull, Ormskirk and up to Burscough (which is definitely Lancashire). So here is the map for most of the Liverpool area:

AUG14 Liverpool map2

And here are my latest findings. After visiting the lovely monkey in Garston I went on to a hunt a few more monkeys that were on my list. Agent Jeff had alerted me to two in South Mossley Hill Road.

L73, South Mossley Hill Road, junction of Glenhead Road.

L73, South Mossley Hill Road, junction of Glenhead Road.

L73.

L73.

Further along the same road:

L74, South Mossley Hill Road.

L74, South Mossley Hill Road.

I’d also got a few others on my list that I’d seen whilst out and about but hadn’t actually photographed. Fortunately Google maps are now a most excellent tool for finding them. First up in Aintree off Wango Lane I’d spotted this little baby monkey, I was sure that if I returned with my camera I would get observed.

Yes, even the Google map camera is being observed!

Yes, even the Google map camera is being observed!

L75, Downside Drive. A baby.

L75, Downside Drive. A baby. Obviously much loved.

Another monkey I’d spotted ages ago in Huyton on a road where it was difficult to park, and haven’t been back that way. It’s on Huyton Lane.

L76, Huyton Lane.

L76, Huyton Lane.

And up in Crosby I’d spotted a very fine tree outside a row of houses I always admire for their attractive brickwork.

L77, Liverpool Road, Crosby.

L77, Liverpool Road, Crosby.

L77, Liverpool Road, Crosby with unusual car.

L77, Liverpool Road, Crosby with unusual car.

And the final Liverpool monkey is another one of those ‘gifts’ that happened because of a diversion. Work on the new road that will connect Switch Island to Thornton – Broom’s Cross Road – has now reached Switch Island and is causing delays. When it’s finished it will be a very useful road for me for getting up to Thornton, but last week it was very slow, so I took an alternative route up to Thornton crematorium, through Bootle. And that’s how I found this last Liverpool monkey, on Southport Road.

L72, Southport Road.

L72, Southport Road.

L72.

L72.

Which brings the Liverpool catalogue up to 77 monkeys, and to finish here is a recent photograph of one of the lovely Allerton Cemetery monkeys – which I often sit under before I take a service over at Springwood crematorium – and it is now fruiting.

L22, Allerton Cemetery.

L22, Allerton Cemetery.

L22 allerton CU_2

 

Leave a Reply

