Liverpool One Gone

Unthinkable I know. But the very first monkey I mapped in Liverpool – L1 – has gone. Yes, vanished, disappeared…

L1 MISSING!

I was vaguely aware that something ‘wasn’t quite right’ as I drove round Queens Drive the other day, and realised that I hadn’t passed the now familiar landmark monkey on my way to north Liverpool. ‘Probably just passed it,’ I thought, ‘I’ll see it on the way home.’ But no, it wasn’t there.

Now, when I came to check on Google for this monkey the photo I found (above) taken in 2012 shows a very lovely mature monkey. Sadly, this poor tree has had it’s crown chopped off, which did give it a bit of an ungainly appearance – and so has looked like the photos below since I catalogued it in March 2014.

L1 MISSING! 2

 

And now it’s gone. Death of a monkey – removed by humans.

Leave a Reply

