Biddulph Grange

I’m not a TV watcher, but thanks to fellow monkey puzzle enthusiast who recommended a BBC series called ‘British Gardens in Time’, I came to discover the gardens at Biddulph Grange. The four programmes in the BBC series looked at:

Great Dixter – Christopher Lloyd’s garden in East Sussex

Stowe – a Georgian landscape garden which launched Capability Brown’s career in Buckinghamshire

Nymans – an Edwardian garden.

Biddulph Grange – considered the best surviving example of Victorian garden

I only watched the Great Dixter and Biddulph programmes, which were both fascinating. But more interesting – to me anyway – was the number of monkey puzzle trees spotted in the gardens at Biddulph. A trip was planned – it’s only about 50 miles from Liverpool, and very accessible.

So this week, we had our planned day out to Biddulph. We’d passed through Congleton last September on our day out to Chatsworth, and had spotted a number of monkey puzzles on that drive. And driving to Biddulph we spotted even more.

DSC03423

Monkeys duly noted, then found on Google afterwards, although Ronnie did take this photo of a rather fine tree near the centre of Congleton when we stopped to consult the map.

Congleton Biddulph04

We didn’t stop for all the trees we saw as this was a day out in Biddulph – but it was very rich in monkeys and suggests a day out in the area another time. The other nine trees spotted in ‘CW’ are all in the catalogue – CW14 to CW22, all around Congleton.

As we approach Biddulph, we cross over the CW postcode boundary and into ST. Just passing Fold Lane we see our first monkey puzzle tree, juvenile ST1.

Arriving at Biddulph we get our tickets and are greeted by a very friendly guide in the entrance hall, one of the last remaining parts of the original house, the rest was destroyed by fire in 1890s, and rebuilt to a different style. The house is now nine private apartments, so nothing to detain us anyway. The guide asks if I’m looking for anything in particular, and is able to direct us to the best places to see the monkey puzzle trees. She also tells me about a monkey puzzle tree near where she lives – in Mow Lane, Biddulph, so that’s ST2.

First up – the Araucaria Parterre.

Congleton BiddulphExtra

I don’t know if this is an original feature – I’m sure the hedging is, but having a monkey puzzle tree in each quadrant? Like much of the garden, it’s not really something I’d want to copy, but it’s a very whimsical and playful garden and I do like that. It’s a sort of huge folly – hidden tunnels, and windy paths and steps.

We set off to find the others.

Biddulph_01

Little do I know it, but there’re visible just there to the right. I’m too busy looking at the map!

Biddulph_02 Biddulph_03

We had some preview views earlier, from ’round the back’, but now we’re going to find the path they’re on.

Biddulph_04

Through this strange little building, called ‘Cheshire Cottage’. Monkey puzzle tree visible next to the chimney.

Biddulph_05

Yes, there! One of several.

Biddulph_06

We go into the cottage, and down the stairs and pop out the other side, where it tells us this was built in 1856.

Biddulph_07

And we are in a group of monkey puzzle trees.

Biddulph_08

Indeed this one in the foreground no doubt planted sometime around said 1856 – it’s a monster.

Biddulph_09 Biddulph_10

A lovely grouping of – by my count – eight mature trees, and three juveniles.

Biddulph_12 Biddulph_13

When I go back to the house, the guide there – the friendly one – tells me that the juvenile monkey puzzle trees in the Pinetum are actually from the quadrants, they moved them when they got too large for the space. (I only counted three juveniles, maybe I missed one?).

ST Biddulph map

Biddulph_14 Biddulph_15

Here I am ‘in the field’, doing what I most enjoy – mapping monkeys!

Biddulph_16

Having had in total a 26 monkey day, I’m now happy to go home. We spotted nine CW monkeys getting here, then two in ST, then 15 at Biddulph. A good day.

Biddulph_17

Goodbye Biddulph. Thanks for a lovely day. And thanks to Ronnie for all the photos of today – I didn’t even have my camera with me.

Ronnie’s blog post of our day out can be found here.

4 thoughts on “Biddulph Grange

  1. Pleased to read your blog. Biddulph grange must be Monkey puzzle heaven. I live in Congleton and have always thought about mapping the trees. Even got my friends looking out for them after I told them about your blog. I have a baby one in my back garden that is just starting to take off. Do you have a set format for mapping them? I am willing to help in any way. Regards Jean

  2. Hello Jean, thanks for reading.
    I ‘collect’ monkey puzzle trees from others by a photograph and location – address or map reference. I then ‘catalogue’ them on ‘monkey central’ (my database), and give them a reference using their postcode letter and a number. I then post each tree on the interactive catalogue – http://monkeymap.blogspot.co.uk/?view=flipcard – and am in the process of putting them all on a Google map – it’s a work in progress, but you can see that here: https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zm73ZsIji7Og.k0ESVylhdCk4
    So please feel free to send me any trees for inclusion in the catalogue. Thanks Jean.
    Best wishes, Sarah

  3. Pingback: Balm | Monkey Map

Leave a Reply

