Postcode update

I was astonished by the response to the recent ‘Postcode challenge‘! Thanks everyone. I reported that of the 121 postcode areas in the UK, there were only 19 postcode areas where I hadn’t got any monkey puzzle trees located. I’ve since been sent several trees in some of those areas, and there were lots of additional trees sent my way, which I will be reporting in due course. The result is that there are some great finds and possibilities here, but still 16 postcode areas without monkey puzzle trees spotted – most of these are in the South East area (details below).

So, an update on the ‘missing’ postcode areas.

North West:

The only postcode with no monkey puzzle trees was M which covers the Manchester area. I was sure it was only a matter of time before this area was explored! Sure enough indefatigable Agent John in Fife (based in Fife but covers much of the north), duly shot off and reported in with four finds in the Didsbury area – M1, M2, M3 and M4. Good work! I’m sure there must be plenty more M monkeys….

M1 to M4 map

I was also contacted by Lyndsey who told me there’s a tree in her road, Claremont Road in Salford. (This tree is in the M6 postcode area of Salford which is covered by postcodes M3, M5, M6 and M7 – but note that for cataloguing purposes I only use the letter plus a sequential number). I have found Lyndsey’s tree on Google and catalogued it as M5 – but Lyndsey please do send your own photo as well. So the M catalogue is off to a good start with five trees.

M5 map

London and South East:

This is the area with still the most ‘gaps’, and also the smallest response to the postcode challenge. The missing postcode areas are CR (Croydon), EC (City of London), IG (Ilford), LU (Luton), RM (Romford), SG (Stevenage), SM (Sutton), UB (Uxbridge), and WC (West Central London).

I was contacted by Lou Nicholls who tells me there is (or used to be) a tree on the right hand side of New Bedford Road past Stockingstone Hill as you leave the town centre in Luton (postcode LU). I can’t find this on Google and wonder if there’s anyone in the area can confirm for me please?

 South West:

Just as I launched the postcode challenge, newly appointed Agent Baxter had sent in our first PO (Portsmouth area) find. It’s PO1 in Chichester. Thanks Agent Baxter and welcome to the team.

PO1

There is also another nearby, marked with a white dot as PO2, Andrew didn’t have his camera with him and this tree is not visible from Google as the walls block the view. Agent Baxter has been reminded of the ‘always carry a camera’ rule of monkey hunting! I have reserved PO2 for this tree and look forward to getting a photo of it in the near future.

I was then sent three trees from the Isle of Wight from David Mansfield, which is also the PO area.

PO Isle of Wight map

Also in the South West area, still missing trees from TA (Taunton), but Beaubelle Botany know at least two in that area, so we await their finds eagerly! And SP (Salisbury) remains monkey-less for now.

East:

 NN, Nuneaton, was on this list, but thanks to Agent Baxter (again) the NN catalogue opened just as I published the postcode challenge. But CO (Colchester) and PE (Peterborough) not yet made it to the catalogue.

North East:

Still just SR (Sunderland) in this area lacking any representation on the Monkey Map.

Scotland:

Not one to resist a challenge, Agent John in Fife quickly took up the opportunity to put FK (Falkirk) on the map. In fact I received news from him on the road the day after the post – mind you he did ask me to set the postcode challenge so he was obviously up for it! So FK1 opens the catalogue.

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 20.43.54

ML (Motherwell) and ZE (Shetland) remain elusively out of the catalogue. As Agent John in Fife told me:

“Motherwell was a failure by this Agent! It was dark, the rain was hosing down and I felt you would understand the impossibility of finding a dark tree against a leaden sky which was obscured by rain!”

So, good work everyone. Keep looking and remember, keep your eyes peeled!

*

This ‘Monkey Map’ project is a personal project and the work of me, Sarah Horton.
I am helped by my task of cataloguing all monkeys by keen monkey puzzle hunters who also do this in their free time.
It is a work of personal passion and brings me great joy. Thank you everyone for your support.

3 thoughts on “Postcode update

  1. I have known of one for years hidden in some woods about three odd miles north of nailsea north Somerset. Near Twickenham estate. Not sure if you know of it. I could go and get idea of height and a pic if you like.

  2. I have a phobia of monkey puzzle trees so know location of many in north east England as keep away. There is a mature monkey tree in saltwell park , Belsay hall , cragside hall. There is one in the garden of the craster arms pub in beadnell. There is one in saltwell cemetrey. There is one at Raby castle .

Leave a Reply

